• Categories

  • HL’s Twitter

  • Please, Pray for & Support Others



    PFL Smaller

    Add this button on your sidebar to support us!

    Thank you for all of your support.

    braincancerbutton.png







  • Heather's  book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists


    Blogging for Books

    Book Reviews

    I love to read and review books and have a very broad range of genre interests. Reading and reviewing Advanced Review Copies is also something that I greatly enjoy and am always more than happy to do. I express my opinions openly and love to share the great new books and authors that I come across. I am more than thrilled to do reviews for any author and/or publisher. Feel free to contact me at: HLJourney@gmail.com





    e-Sword Home

  • Flickr Photos

  • Invisible Chronic Illness Awareness


    Invisible Illness Awareness

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Next Step – Day 14

Next Steps

A 30-DAY GUIDE FOR NEW BELIEVERS
by JOHN D. BECKETT
DAY 14 RESISTING THE DEVIL
How do I deal with the devil?

Yesterday our focus was on overcoming the old self, and we saw that victory comes to us as we walk in the Spirit. Today we will talk about how we deal with the devil.

I learned a great lesson early in my Christian walk. A dispute, one that seemed quite irrational, developed at our company between two senior managers. As tempers flared and harsh words burst out, it looked as though things would only get worse, not better.

Later, as I pondered the problem in the quiet surroundings of my study at home, my eyes fell on an unopened book on my bookshelf, still in its cellophane wrapper. The title intrigued me: Dealing with the Devil by C.S. Lovett. As I leafed through its pages I came across this analogy: Suppose you stood in the middle of a busy traffic intersection, wearing normal street clothes, with cars coming from all directions. You might wave your arms wildly trying to stop traffic, but before long you’d probably be run over. Imagine instead that you do the same thing, only this time change your clothing. Put on a policeman’s uniform. The results would be completely different. Drivers would respect the authority represented by the uniform and do as you directed.

The author then made this point: If a believer is “clothed with Christ,” he or she has authority to deal with spiritual opposition, just as the policeman does in traffic. Armed with this insight, I “put on my uniform” and prayed in Jesus’ name, exerting authority over whatever unseen forces were causing dissension between the two managers. The next day I found to my amazement the problem had vanished — as though there had never been a conflict in the first place. This incident really opened my eyes to spiritual opposition. The Bible has a great deal to say about such warfare. Let’s look more closely.

The devil is a real adversary that you must reckon with. Also known as Satan, he was initially a high-ranking angel in heaven who rebelled, was cast out of heaven (see Luke 10:18) and has been in total opposition to God ever since. It was he who tempted Adam and Eve in the Garden (see Genesis 3:4) and even now is the author of war, famine, murder and every vice known to mankind. Jesus called him a thief that “does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy” (John 10:10).

Satan challenged Jesus at every turn — from His infancy through His death. Yet Jesus was undeterred from His mission to completely defeat His ancient foe. The Apostle John said, “For this purpose the Son of God was manifested, that He might destroy the works of the devil” (1 John 3:8). Though the enemy was a schemer and clever tactician, he made an enormous miscalculation, thinking if he could kill God’s Son he would gain uncontested control of the entire world. However Jesus’ death, which Satan expected to be his supreme triumph, became his ultimate downfall.

Though Satan was indeed defeated, for a while he continues to exert a measure of influence on earth. He is still behind every form of evil, perhaps with increasing intensity, sensing (correctly) the day is coming when he will be completely destroyed. Peter says Satan “walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour” (1 Peter 5:8). Peter’s counsel? “Resist him, steadfast in the faith” (v.9). Paul says the same: “Be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might. Put on the whole armor of God that you may be able to stand against the wiles (schemings) of the devil” (Ephesians 6:10,11).

Every day you will see evidence of the devil’s influence around you and in world events. The good news is that in Jesus you can be an “overcomer,” a phrase used often in Revelation, the final book of the Bible. James says emphatically, “Resist the devil and he will flee from you” (James 4:7). In other words, put on the policeman’s uniform!

Key Scripture I (the Lord) will contend with him who contends with you (Isaiah 49:25).
Key Thought Christ’s victory is complete, and He will show me how to apply that victory each day.
 
Copyright © 2006 by John D. Beckett

How wonderful it is to know that we have authority – by and with Christ in us – over Satan. Bind Satan to do no harm to you, your family, friends, everyone! Stay in Christ’s Word, put on the full armor of God & stand against the devil’s scheme’s.

Be blessed, HL

TrinnyLeslie – Update

Please excuse the lateness/delay in posting updated information as I've been
sick and feeling down - - - then finally getting better, to join the race of
catching up. Although I sit and feel like I will never catch up - but I know 
with His strength and being persistant; it'll all turn out in the end.
Thank you all for your understanding and continued prayers.

— 10/05/07 —

Support is Important; Especially From Your Family & Friends

“Yesterday was a real bad day for me, I was going through my ailments of my diseases. I saw my family husband and 2 sons falling apart in front of me. It got to the point that I broke down and cred, with that my husband stop what he was doing, and kneel at the side of our bed. I told him that I am working hard on fighting my diseases and needed their strength and support. If everyone is not on the same line in winning this battle, I will not survive.

This weekend our family is going to over to have a meeting on dealing with everything and come up with a better plan to save our family. Without my family and friends support I do not think I can fight this on my own.”

 Leslie, Alex, Jerome, Daniel, and Benjamin are strong… they will make a plan and fight together, with God’s strength, courage, and peace to walk this journey. Thank you all for your continued prayers – more updates to come when I receive more information.

— 10/03/07 —

God is Good 

“Today my family came over and it was the most uplifting, spiritual day I had; they cooked, prayed and sang. I felt a weight on my chest come off and refresh.

Today I claim my healing from the lord, I’m no longer going to feel like giving up, despair during my pains and suffering. The Lord is working on healing me through faith, family, friends, doctors, medicine and many more. I have seen my blessings coming, today my pulmonary doctor called and said that my results came back normal (Thank God).

I have so much to do on this earth with your help and everyone else, I can share the message and help other’s in need. I started applying some of things my aunt told me to do with Benjamin, you know that he have been having problems since he’s out of school. So I wanted him to go sleep early because he have been up since 6:30 am, and yet he was fighting me not to go to sleep. I said to him that the Lord want him to rest, while listening to some Gospel music, he kept saying no to me, then after I took off the television. He finally settle down and fell asleep in 10 minutes. It’s 8:13 pm and he is still sleeping, now I am relaxing and at some peace. God is great. I thank God sending you in my life to lift me up and will always.

Tomorrow is my doctor’s appointment with the primary care physician and still will celebrate because I am on the road to healing. No tears, no pity, just celebration of life and living. Although I am only human going through pains, getting use to my new life will take some time. I guess you can say I am going through a transition in my life to get ready to do great things.”  

— 10/02/07 —

Leslie’s Visit to the Pulmonary doctor

“Yesterday my mother-in-law came and picked me up so we can go to the pulmonary doctor for the results. He told both of us his diagnosis of Dypsnea, his interperatations is mild restrictive lung disease, with that being said he wanted me to do a CT-Scan on my chest without contrast. Then in a week he will call and give me the results, and still do the sleep study test on October 26th 2007. So my mother-in-law told him to write a script up and she will take me to her hospital to do CT-Scan. We went over after wards and the hospital did the test and x-rays to take with me. Afterwards my mother-in-law bought lunch and brought Ben (my youngest son) and myself home.

Also the pulmonary doctor said that I will have to prop my pillows up, like in a L-shape to sleep at nights. I am still feeling sick more and more each day, I have been waking up coughing and feverish. So today I call my Rheumatologist to ask him what can I take for the fever, and he told me Tylenol 2 tabs a day.

Upside story is that I call Access-a-Ride to find out the status of my application, for me to have car services to take me to and from my appointents. The person said although it’s still pending, I can use the services for now. So I called and schedule a pick up and drop off for my appointment on Thursday 4th Oct 2007 at my primary care physician.”

— 9/29/07 —
Leslie’s youngest son has autism… and following is a note from her:

I See the Light in my Son’s Eyes

“Since I have been going through crisis one after the next, I started paying more and more attention to my son Benjamin. It’s just that when it takes something like my health condition to slow me down, you start noticing things. My son is getting better, he is speaking more, looking into my eyes and smiling. He is becoming independent, doing things on his own (brushing teeth, trying to dress on his own and cleaning up). To hear words coming out [of] my son more everyday, it gives me courage and peace, knowing he’ll be alright. Nothing like autism will keep down, he’s going to beat this with our help. I see my son’s light in his eyes and I know he’s okay.”