• Categories

  • HL’s Twitter

  • Please, Pray for & Support Others



    PFL Smaller

    Add this button on your sidebar to support us!

    Thank you for all of your support.

    braincancerbutton.png







  • Heather's  book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists


    Blogging for Books

    Book Reviews

    I love to read and review books and have a very broad range of genre interests. Reading and reviewing Advanced Review Copies is also something that I greatly enjoy and am always more than happy to do. I express my opinions openly and love to share the great new books and authors that I come across. I am more than thrilled to do reviews for any author and/or publisher. Feel free to contact me at: HLJourney@gmail.com





    e-Sword Home

  • Flickr Photos

    FB_IMG_1487944422696

    Happy PeopleNeed to work on this!

    20170222_113728

    FB_IMG_1486590268649

    More Photos
  • Invisible Chronic Illness Awareness


    Invisible Illness Awareness

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Next Step – Day 20

Next Steps

A 30-DAY GUIDE FOR NEW BELIEVERS
by JOHN D. BECKETT
DAY 20 WORSHIP
Note: The next two studies — today’s on worship, and tomorrow’s on prayer — are written by Wendy Beckett, my precious wife of more than 45 years. Wendy has developed a wonderful life of both worship and prayer, and I believe you will appreciate her insights.

Why is it so important for me to praise and worship Jesus?

When believers in Jesus praise and sing to Him, is it because God, the King of the universe, needs human beings to worship Him?  Not really, although we can be sure God delights in our worship.

Actually, what I find is that praise and worship are vitally important to my relationship to Him. Worship enables me to lift my thoughts from myself to my Savior, Friend and Lord, and into a whole new realm. It shifts my focus from my circumstances to His plans.

When we meditate on His goodness, His amazing love, His sacrificial death for us, and His great power in our lives our natural response is to praise and worship Him. Thankfulness spontaneously wells up within us.

David was a great worshiper who became Israel’s most outstanding king. The account of his life is found in Old Testament books of First and Second Samuel. From his earliest years we see his heart for worship. As a young shepherd boy, watching his father’s flock on the hills surrounding Bethlehem, David expressed his love and gratitude to the Lord. He sang about the beauty of God’s creation. He prayed to God when he was in danger. And when the Lord answered and protected him, David expressed thanksgiving and praise through songs and poetry.

The Psalms, many of which were written by David, give us the rich legacy of his worship and deep love for God.

  • The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want [lack anything] (Psalm 23:1)
  • The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? (27:1)
  • Give unto the Lord the glory due to His name; worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness (29:2)
  • Great is the Lord and greatly to be praised (48:1)
  • Bless the Lord, O my soul; and all that is within me, bless His holy name! (103:1)
  • Oh, give thanks to the Lord, for He is good! For His mercy endures forever (107:1)

Here is an approach to worship, based on my experience, which you may find helpful. Early in the morning and before going to sleep at night express your love to the Lord. “Father, I greet you this morning, and thank You for this new day.” “Lord, it’s been quite a day, but I thank You for Your faithfulness.”

As you go about your daily activities be conscious to thank Him, praising Him for Who He is and telling Him you love Him. (Of course, some days you feel more like doing this than others.) Realize that you are on a journey. The more you praise Him throughout the day, the more you will sense His joy and the more you will see things from His perspective. Your daily life will take on a whole new meaning.

Key Scripture Praise the Lord! For it is good to sing praises to our God (Psalm 147:1).
Key Thought Nothing brings me closer to the Lord than thanking, praising and worshiping Him.
 
Copyright © 2006 by John D. Beckett

Take the time to journal for yourself your prayers, praises, and thanks to God each day. Helpful start would be to write out the Key Scripture or Thought and go from there. . .

Nothing brings me closer to the Lord than thanking, praising, and worshiping Him. I thank You Father for today, bringing our Youth home safely from the overnight bowling ralley – which we also thank You for the time they had together for fellowship. We praise You Father for the guidance given in helping us be the way You want us to be, and thank You for continuing to work in us. I worship You in song today, and thank You for giving the artists the gifts to “teach” us the songs! In Jesus’ name, amen.

Leave a Reply

