• Categories

  • HL’s Twitter

  • Please, Pray for & Support Others



    PFL Smaller

    Add this button on your sidebar to support us!

    Thank you for all of your support.

    braincancerbutton.png







  • Heather's  book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists


    Blogging for Books

    Book Reviews

    I love to read and review books and have a very broad range of genre interests. Reading and reviewing Advanced Review Copies is also something that I greatly enjoy and am always more than happy to do. I express my opinions openly and love to share the great new books and authors that I come across. I am more than thrilled to do reviews for any author and/or publisher. Feel free to contact me at: HLJourney@gmail.com





    e-Sword Home

  • Flickr Photos

    FB_IMG_1487944422696

    Happy PeopleNeed to work on this!

    20170222_113728

    FB_IMG_1486590268649

    More Photos
  • Invisible Chronic Illness Awareness


    Invisible Illness Awareness

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

My Walk Monday #2

My Walk MondayEach week Carolyn over at Scrapping Servant would like for us to share a post on a bit of your walk with the Savior.  It could be anything like what you learned that morning in devotions, what you are struggling with, a new worship song you learned, a prayer request,  a new Bible study you started, a praise report, you get the idea… anything that is a cause for growth in your relationship with the Lord. She will also post a question for us answer with hopes for each of us to get to know each other better! You can check for all of my postings for this subject here!

Sharing today from
  Our Daily Bread 

This morning I was having a phone conversation with a friend regarding a situation where I know the Lord has constantly been working on me … my character – attitude and the way I handle things. I love the way we learn and focus – seek – God to become better people. He has shown me my whole life how I am good at being helpful toward others, how He has gifted me with this caring heart – but sometimes the old self tries to sneak in. It’s as though I keep getting these reminders that I’m not yet where He wants me, but I’m definitely not where I used to be and I’m completely Thanking God for not leaving me where I was! Today’s devotion from Our Daily Bread struk a cord as well with this – read Inside Out devotion and “Remember, it’s the things on the inside – your heart, your thoughts, your attitudes – that really matter.” ~ Joe Stowell ~ From the continued study at the end of Inside Out I want to point out (just in case you don’t have time right NOW to go read it all) –

“The apostle James wrote to believers undergoing some tough opposition, instructing them not just to hear the truth but also to do the truth (James 1:22). In other words, we need to let Truth transform us before we try to articulate it to others.”

So I went searching… for character… attitude… heart… discipline… behavior…

 1Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we[a]have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, 2through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we[b] rejoice in the hope of the glory of God. 3Not only so, but we[c] also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; 4perseverance, character; and character, hope. 5And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.
                                                                 Romans 5:1-5

 5Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus:
 6Who, being in very nature[a] God,
      did not consider equality with God something to be grasped,
 7but made himself nothing,
      taking the very nature[b] of a servant,
      being made in human likeness.
 8And being found in appearance as a man,
      he humbled himself
      and became obedient to death—
         even death on a cross!
                    Philippians 2:5-8

Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. 
                                                                  Philippians 4:5

Keys to a positive attitude:

 16Be joyful always; 17pray continually; 18give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.
      1 Thessalonians 5:16-18
 

My Life Application NIV Bible shares a chart p.1033-
The Four Tongues

    What we say probably affects more people than any other action we take. It is not 
surprising, then, to find that Proverbs gives special attention to words and how they 
are used. Four common speek patterns are described in Proverbs. The first two should 
be copied; the last two should be avoided.

The Controlled Tongue

Those with this speech pattern think before speaking, know when silence is best, and give wise advice 10:19; 11:12, 13; 12:16; 13:3; 15:1, 4, 28; 21:23; 24:26
The Caring Tongue Those with this speech pattern speak truthfully while seeking to encourage. 10:32, 12:18, 25; 15:23; 16:24; 25:15; 27:9

The Conniving Tongue

Those with this speech pattern are filled with wrong motives, gossip, slander, and a desire to twist truth. 6:12-14; 8:13; 16:28; 18:8; 25:18; 26:20-28

The Careless Tongue

Those with this speech pattern are filled with lies, curses, quick-tempered words – which can lead to rebellion and destruction 10:18, 32; 11:9; 12:16, 18; 15:4; 17:9; 14,19; 20:19; 25:23

Where do you fall? Are there some changes that need to be made? Don’t worry – PRAY – He’ll help you change into the person He wants you to be… and remember it’s HIS timing, not ours!

Recommendation:
Read through Proverbs and James to help you become a person honoring to God!

I could share so much more on this subject… back Monday is almost gone – and it’s time for me to rest. So, I look forward to returning to your comments, and seeing what He wants me to share next week. Don’t forget to click on the My Walk Monday button so you can see who else is participating! God Bless, HL

 Week 2 Bonus Question: How do you minister for the Lord?  Can you share a photo?  

Servanthood

I’m not in the picture… b/c I’m taking it! But, I’m a co-teacher of our 4-5 year olds Mission Friends class! We have a blast each week. I also help out the Children’s Pastor by assisting with anything computer wise – making the newsletter, updating the blog, and flyers if needed. In addition to this I help where needed with PowerPoint presentations! I just love the computer, not sure what I’d do without one! Outside of church I care for my family – to include: husband, two sons, and disabled mother with fibromyalgia, and a overnight elder-caregiver! God has truly blessed me with family and friends!

Thanks for sharing this time with me. God Bless, HL

One Response

  1. Thank you so much for sharing this. It’s funny (again) how God repeats things for me, the verses in Romans my husband shared with me just the other day :o) God has been encouraging me to walk in my faith (which is so soo there, I just don’t always DO tenaciously (I word I shared). He has been encouraging me to trust in Him for perseverance. I also know He wants me to have more peace. Also, I fall into the caring tongue category… and am currently reading slowly through James. So everything I read here tonight is conformation, thank you again. See you next week sister, and praise the Lord for all the gifts He has given you to use for Him!!!

Leave a Reply

