• Categories

  • HL’s Twitter

  • Please, Pray for & Support Others



    PFL Smaller

    Add this button on your sidebar to support us!

    Thank you for all of your support.

    braincancerbutton.png







  • Heather's  book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists


    Blogging for Books

    Book Reviews

    I love to read and review books and have a very broad range of genre interests. Reading and reviewing Advanced Review Copies is also something that I greatly enjoy and am always more than happy to do. I express my opinions openly and love to share the great new books and authors that I come across. I am more than thrilled to do reviews for any author and/or publisher. Feel free to contact me at: HLJourney@gmail.com





    e-Sword Home

  • Flickr Photos

    FB_IMG_1487944422696

    Happy PeopleNeed to work on this!

    20170222_113728

    FB_IMG_1486590268649

    More Photos
  • Invisible Chronic Illness Awareness


    Invisible Illness Awareness

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

My Walk Monday #7

I awoke this morning to the continuation of our weather… rain, thunder, and lightening! This kind of weather stirs many different emotions within:

  • *  Cleansing: as we watch the earth being “washed,” we can relate to our baptism and our returning each day to our King!
  • *  Frightening: as the ligthening and thunder can sound so scary, we can sometimes relate to how we may feel as we walk our journey with the LORD as He works on us to cleanse us of our sinful nature.
  • *  Refreshing: the aroma that comes from rain… how refreshing! We can relate to this as how refreshing it is to see and know He’s helping us become the person He wants us to be; even knowing that we always have something to learn and changes to be made, but we’re not where we used to be – Thank God!

What are your thoughts on a rainy day? How do you take the time to set yourself apart and try your best to see the world as He would see it?

My reading this morning was in 1 Corinthians 6:12-20 from Our Daily Bread Devotional. You can read the devotional: Return on Investment.

There are a couple of different points that I’d like to focus on with these Scriptures:

  1. “Everything is permissible for me” – but not everything is beneficial.
    Do you really understand this? Why would Paul share what is permissible? Permissible = allowable. I’ve come across many in my walk that had this thought of once they were saved by grace; they could do whatever they wanted because they were free. This was tremendously worrisome for me. There attitude was that of being above others around them. I could not understand how they truly thought they were living a Christian life. And being with these people I realized also how my own behavior could be perceived this way… what a conviction upon myself.
        We can see how easily it is to fall into this trap that Satan wants to continue to work on us and try his best to take us away from God. We all need to stand guard, seek God, ask for His strength and help in changing us.There are many notes in my Life Application NIV Study Bible regarding this verse: Apparently the church had been quoting and misapplying the words “everything is permissible for me.” Some Christians in Corinth were excusing their sins by saying that (1) Christ had taken away all sin, and so they had complete freedom to live as they pleased, or (2) what they were doing was not strictly forbidden by Scripture. Paul answered both these excuses. (1) While Christ has taken away our sin, this does not give us freedom to go on doing what we know is wrong. The New Testament specifically forbids many sins (see 6:9, 10) that were originally prohibited in the Old Testament (see Romans 12:9-21; 13:8-10). (2) Some actions are not sinful in themselves, but they are not appropriate because they can control our lives and lead us away from God. (3) Some actions may hurt others. Anything we do that hurts rather than helps others is not right.
         Freedom is a mark of the Christian faith – freedom from sin and guilt, and freedom to use and enjoy anything that comes from God. But Christians should not abuse this freedom and hurt themselves or others. Drinking too much leads to alcoholism, gluttony leads to obesity. Be careful that what God has allowed you to enjoy doesn’t grow into a bad habit that controls you. For more about Christian freedom and everyday behavior, read chapter 8.
  2. …The body is not meant for sexual immorality, but for the Lord, and the Lord for the body.
    We are to save ourselves for Him; and save ourselves for marriage. We need to guard our eyes and minds from explicities shown on TV and in movies in order to allow God to use us as He feels fit. Being sexually immoral can destroy us spiritually, physically, and emotionally. Instead of falling into mans trap of giving into loneliness or fleshly desires, we need to depend fully on God to fill us with Himself!
  3. Flee from sexual immorality. All other sins a man commits are outside his body, but he who sins sexually sins against his own body.
    The notes from my Life Application NIV Study Bible share: Christians are free to be all they can be for God, but they are not free from God. God created sex to be a beautiful and essential ingredient of marriage, but sexual sin – sex outside the marriage relationship – always hurts someone. It hurts God becuase it shows that we prefer following our own desires instead of the leading of the Holy Spirit. It hurts others because it violates the commitment so necessary to a relationship. It often brings disease to our bodies. And it deply affects our personalities, which respond in anguish when we hard ourselves physically and spiritually.
  4. These Scripture readings bring me back to reading through Metamorpha by Kyle Stroble. Too often I’m finding our churches are not teaching completely what it means to be a Christian – a disciple of Jesus. Strobel shares, “I fear that our conversations in the church focus more on our bad fruit than on the fact that we are sick trees.
         God has called us on a journey to live with him. He has given us a way to discern our bearings on the path so that we continue to grow and thrive. The worldview informers act as roots for the tree seeking life-giving water. If we attend to God through the Spirit, the Bible, and community and have our worldviews informed by those things, we will bear fruit according to the time and abundance that God has prepared. This is not a call to anew movement but to engage with God and his movement – to see the world as he would have us see it. ( p. 48 )
         … The text (the Bible) is an instrument to help us to see rightly, to take our eyes off the horizon at which they are aimed and align them with the horizon at which the text is really pointing, and this is only possibe if we come to the text as sheep and continue on as sheep. (p. 67)
         Growing in faith is growing in our ability to see rightly, and we are powerless to do that outside of the Spirit. (p. 86)
         [Sometimes] God’s molding will often feel more negative, like deconstruction, but if we take Jesus at his word, he is using all things as ways to liberate fus from our present struggles and bring us into the reality of his love. As put by John Coe:The basic means by which God by his Spirit convesys his presence for Christian formation is through the revelation of his truth, or his Word. This divine truth becomes dynamic in the process of transformation by the presence of the Spirit who teaches and applies it to the human heart (cf. Jer. 31:33-34; Isa. 54:13; 1 Cor. 2:9-13)…

    After hearing some of his teaching, most of the disciples leave Jesus saying, “This is a difficult statement, who can listen to it?” ( p. 88 )

I could go on and on with reference from this book… but the main point is we need to build our communities and teach how to remove ourselves from sinful nature – worldly desires. We need to focus on seeking God, learning His Word, and depending on Him. We need to teach to build strength, have accountability, a community of others to go to when needed.

Please keep Carolyn in your prayers this week as she walked her journey feeling blind-sided, hit by a flaming arrow. Praising God for her sharing and continue to stay in the word through James & other books of the Bible! As always… we have this meme because Caryolyn started it – and I praise her for her commitment to continue!
Each week Carolyn over at Scrapping Servant would like for us to share a post on a bit My Walk Mondayof your walk with the Savior.  It could be anything like what you learned that morning in devotions, what you are struggling with, a new worship song you learned, a prayer request,  a new Bible study you started, a praise report, you get the idea… anything that is a cause for growth in your relationship with the Lord. She will also post a question for us answer with hopes for each of us to get to know each other better! You can check for all of my postings for this subject here

 This week’s Bonus Question:  What do you run to instead of God?  How can you tangibly remedy that? 

This has been a growing part of my journey! I have issues with saying things quickly, without thinking about what I’m about to say before saying it, without praying and going to God before saying it. I’ve improved – but still have growing to do in this area; and I thank God for His reminders to continue to work on this and not leaving me where I used to be!

God Bless, HL
 

4 Responses

  1. I loved your look at the rain and weather in relation to our walk with the Lord! Thanks for sharing and this refreshing look at how God works in us.

    DJ

  2. Just stopped by to say Hi. You have some worthwhile studying going on here.

    Blessings, e-Mom @ Chrysalis

  3. Hey Girlie! Thanks for your encouragement and kind words! – not only on your blog here but in my comments too! I really appreciate it. They will know us by our loves for one another – thank you for being a good example of this.

    < Carolyn

    PS I lOVE rainy days and they make me think on how clean God likes to keep things :o)

  4. Upon looking at this I think about my walk with Christ then and now.
    Then I believed that I was saved. The knowledge was there. Satan as he does so much with all believers. He will use Scripture to temp us just like he did to Jesus after the 40 days in the desert. The difference is that Jesus knows the scripture and used it to combat Satan. Most of us do not know or think of what the Bible says. Then I did not know the bible as I do now. I looked at my sins the same way the Corinthians did. I can do this I am forgiven. Satan’s lie to me. Now, I still know that I am forgiven no matter what I do, but now I refuse to let myself sin. I can not walk with 1 leg with God and 1 leg with the world. One is going to win out. And God won’t use one that dose not walk wholehearted in his ways without sinning willingly. I know I will still sin. Being a human. I am prone for it. I will not however, sin with the excuse “I can do, it I’m forgiven”.
    The Bible says that we are to offer up ourselves a living sacrifice. To go through life sinning is to not to offer up ourselves. Refusing to give into the sins is an offering of sacrifice that Jesus asks of us. Jesus says “pray least ye fall into temptation”. So pray.

    Pray for me and yourselves not to fall.

    I know that on that day when I stand before God and I am judged for what I did while I was on the earth. I do not want to answer for why I did not give up my sins for him when he killed his son for me.

Leave a Reply

