• Categories

  • HL’s Twitter

  • Please, Pray for & Support Others



    PFL Smaller

    Add this button on your sidebar to support us!

    Thank you for all of your support.

    braincancerbutton.png







  • Heather's  book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists


    Blogging for Books

    Book Reviews

    I love to read and review books and have a very broad range of genre interests. Reading and reviewing Advanced Review Copies is also something that I greatly enjoy and am always more than happy to do. I express my opinions openly and love to share the great new books and authors that I come across. I am more than thrilled to do reviews for any author and/or publisher. Feel free to contact me at: HLJourney@gmail.com





    e-Sword Home

  • Flickr Photos

  • Invisible Chronic Illness Awareness


    Invisible Illness Awareness

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Insomnia

Fighting with the blankets,

    Tossing & Turning,

        My mind feeling like TnT,
            – going to many miles per minute.

Currently walking through Day Four of this bout of insomnia:
Can’t believe I’m still functioning –
Finally crawling into bed between 1 & 2:30a
waiting any where from 1/2 an hour to an hour to actually fall asleep
praying, journaling, listening to my iPod, counting backwards
20-40 minutes of sleep, maybe,
to find myself awake again for a period of 1-2 hours
… then morning comes – way too soon and it all begins again.

Walking through each day… 

Exhaustion

    In A Fog

        Forgetful

            Restless

                Groggy

                    Can’t Think Straight… … … …

So I pray,
    What exactly is it that God is trying to bring to my attention?

I still haven’t figured that out this time…

So I carry on…
    Drinking Sleepytime Tea by Celestial Seasonings; 
         Praying;
            Reading;
                                                    The above usually do the trick for me… … …
                Journaling;
                    Trying different sleep remedies – to no avail;
                        Checking E-mail, Facebook, Etc. websites; 

… … … … … … … …

But I wanted to let you in on a secret I came across during one of my on-line adventures last night! I found it b/c Chelsea blogged about it! Have you ever heard of Insomnia Cookies? NOOOO, the cookies are not called that because they keep you awake… (well, I guess if you ate too many they would due to the sugar content 😉 ) The company deliveries cookies to college campuses in the area.

Interesting huh? I say they need to start delivering in my area – to residential homes! Anyway – just thought I’d let you all know about them; b/c I thought it was a great idea.

Keep pressing forward!

Love & Prayers,

4 Responses

  1. Hi Heather Lyn!
    I hope you slept last night! I loved how your poem reflected just what insomnia feels like. Your site is terrific. Thanks for being a part of our Progressive Party! Keep us posted…

  2. Oh I so can relate to the no sleeping!! My hubby doesn’t understand when I try to describe what you just describe how it feels!! He is the type that hits the pillow and is out within two minutes! I hope and pray you get some restful sleep soon!

  3. You so have my total sympathy. I took an herbal supplement once that caused me to stay awake for 3 days solid and it was AWFUL! I can’t begin to imagine doing it for more. Will pray you can sleep well soon!

    One thing that has helped me with sleep issues (much easier ones), is to find sermon podcasts by pastors who have quiet, fairly even voices and no music. If I can’t sleep I’m inputting God’s Word, but the calm quiet voices often seem to help me fall asleep. Your mention of your iPod reminded me of that 🙂

  4. Hey girl, im sorry your not sleeping. we’re probably up at the same time! ive been having a lot of trouble sleeping, for a while now, too long to count. but i dont have 2 kids i have to function for in the morning 😦 i think when i finally get a job, hopefully my sleeping will get better – we’ll see. i love and miss you.

Leave a Reply

