• Categories

  • HL’s Twitter

  • Please, Pray for & Support Others



    PFL Smaller

    Add this button on your sidebar to support us!

    Thank you for all of your support.

    braincancerbutton.png







  • Heather's  book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists


    Blogging for Books

    Book Reviews

    I love to read and review books and have a very broad range of genre interests. Reading and reviewing Advanced Review Copies is also something that I greatly enjoy and am always more than happy to do. I express my opinions openly and love to share the great new books and authors that I come across. I am more than thrilled to do reviews for any author and/or publisher. Feel free to contact me at: HLJourney@gmail.com





    e-Sword Home

  • Flickr Photos

  • Invisible Chronic Illness Awareness


    Invisible Illness Awareness

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

SHMILY/PPW 2

Sharing Day 2 of SHMILY Time through Facebook, and excited to share this journey with over 1500 other women! The enemy cannot stop our Father’s mighty Power to lift up further, to rebuild, and/or to start new marriages! I say again (from yesterday), thank you all for joining me & I look forward to giving my husband a new wife – me, the one God intended for him to have!

Before I share my notes on our reading… Amy has sent us all a challenge! Please take the time to click on her name above to share in this journey. Additionally I wanted to suggest – if you haven’t already, you may want to pair up with someone else the is journeying along for accountability & prayer partner. My Sister (states away) & I are calling each other every night to share our thoughts regarding the chapter and then prayer for our husbands together! God is good!

ppw

Join us as we continue to read through “The Power of a Praying Wife”by Stormie Omartian! Today we read chapter 2: His Job.

I am blessed with a husband that accepts his responsibility as the head of our home to work, Dave is not lazy nor a workaholic. I admire my husband for his perseverance working through colds and just plain not feeling like it; and through weather that is completely awful: snow, rain, sleet… he delivers through it all. (No, he’s not a postal carrier.) There have been times that he’s frustrated and/or unfulfilled with his job. We wives need to understand, encourage, and support our husbands, as Stormie shares , that a husband “needs to be appreciated and he needs to win, and his work is often a means of seeing both happen.”

     Another point shared through this chapter is that we need to “make sure he [husband] has times of rest and enjoyment – to do things that entertain him and give him a reprieve from the weight of a lifetime of supporting a family.” I understand the wife that works too, and feels she deserves a break as well – but return to yesterday’s reading and remember we wives are the heart of the home and need to make sure the home is peaceful & nurturing for our family! I understand the wife that’s been home with the children all day and feels Daddy’s home, time for a break – but really, think about it, what’s another 5 -30 minutes to give your husband the chance to wind-down from his hard working day?

MY PRAYER:
Father God, I thank you for the gathering of all these wives, coming together to lift up our husbands. I come in agreement with them, all through SHMILY event on Facebook & through Amy’s blog, in the name of Jesus reclaiming a hedge of protection around each marriage. I thank You for gracing me with a husband who is not lazy or a workaholic! I pray that You would continue to bless the work of Dave’s hands. Give him strength, endurance, patience, and keep him safe as he works each day. Father God I lift Dave up to You asking for doors to continue to open doors that You Will for him to enter & to close the doors he should not go through; help him to continue to maintain a healthy lifestyle by not overdoing it. If the work he is doing is not in line with Your perfect will for his life, reveal it to him. Show him what he should do differently and guide him down the right path. Surround Dave & all other husbands with other christian brothers to help them grow closer in their walk to You; giving them a desire to have a closer relationship with You. May Dave’s labor bring not only favor, success, and prosperity, but great fulfillment as well. May he never run from work out of fear, selfishness, or a desire to avoid responsibility. On the other hand, help him to see that he doesn’t have to work himself to death for man’s approval, or grasp for gain beyond what is a gift from You. Give him the ability to enjoy his success without striving for more.
     I pray Father for You to help me, give me the right words to share for encouragement and lifting Dave up. I ask You to shine through me so he knows You’re working in his life and help me to share with him how much I appreciate him. I thank You Father for this group and I joyfully look forward to our future as a married couple. Amen!

Thanks for joining me!

Leave a Reply

