• Categories

  • HL’s Twitter

  • Please, Pray for & Support Others



    PFL Smaller

    Add this button on your sidebar to support us!

    Thank you for all of your support.

    braincancerbutton.png







  • Heather's  book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists


    Blogging for Books

    Book Reviews

    I love to read and review books and have a very broad range of genre interests. Reading and reviewing Advanced Review Copies is also something that I greatly enjoy and am always more than happy to do. I express my opinions openly and love to share the great new books and authors that I come across. I am more than thrilled to do reviews for any author and/or publisher. Feel free to contact me at: HLJourney@gmail.com





    e-Sword Home

  • Flickr Photos

  • Invisible Chronic Illness Awareness


    Invisible Illness Awareness

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

SHMILY/PPW 1

Day 1 of SHMILY through

Stormie OMartian’s

The Power of a Praying Wife!

Click above to join us!

Click above to join us!

As I shared yesterday, I am joining (now) over 1400 women praying for their husband’s in the month of June. We are reading through The Power of a Praying Wife, one chapter/day. You don’t have to have the book to participate – JUST PRAY! You can join us through Facebook’s SHMILY Fan page, Group page, & Event pages: ONE & TWO; or you can join us through Amy’s Blog: Dandelion Seeds if you’re not a member of Facebook. UPDATE: Event page two has been deleted.

By today, June 1st, we should have completed the introduction: The Power and Chapter one: His Wife. WARNING… this post is long! These two parts of the book are a lot to swallow as the introduction shares where Stormie is coming from and chapter one goes into me… the wife! I’d like to share some brief points with you that stuck:

  • We need to understand that our hearts need to be in the right place for God to work with us.
  • We have to choose, even if we don’t feel like it, that we want our marriage to succeed! (p.19)
  • We can only work on ourselves… accept that we can’t change our husband. (p.14)
  • Divorce grieves the Father. (p.15)
  • God is bigger then anything we can ever imagine! “The power that resurrected Jesus is the very same power that will resurrect the dead places of your marriage and put life back into it.”  (p.19) WHOOO!
  • Be patient to persevere and wait for God to heal. Keep in mind that you are both (wife/husband) imperfect people. (p.23)
  • WIFE: always maintain a pure heart. (p.25)
  • Let go of the past and all hurt associated with it… be willing to lose the argument in order to win the battle! (p.28)
  • Go to our Lord for direction, words, wisdom with each situation… asking Him to help you understand what He wants you to share with your husband. “If there is anything I really want him [husband] to do, I’ve learned to pray about it until I have God’s peace in my heart before I ask.” (p.33)
  • Ask yourself: “What are you doing to make yourself attractive?” My husband just responded to me yesterday that “young loves dies because the wife stops being sexy & the husbands gets …” (can’t remember his exact words, so I don’t want to mis-quote him.) The way we present our self matter a great deal to our husband. (p.39)
  • Do your husband good & not evil in all the days of your life! (p.44)
  • Pray using your husband’s name!

Following my signature is my prayer for today… with the recommended prayer entwined (pp.44-46)! Please don’t hesitate to leave comments/questions here. All are appreciated. Thanks for your continued support as I was this SHMILY journey!

~Hugs & Prayers,

Father God, 
     I place before You each marriage participating (and ones not) in the SHMILY group. Lord, help me & others to be a good wife. I fully realize that I don’t have what it takes to be one without Your help. Today I come to You asking to reveal any unconfessed sin I may be holding onto… confessing the times of anger, bitterness, resentment, disappointment, frustration, unforgiveness, and hardness of heart towards my husband. Take my selfishness, impatience, and irritability and turn them into kindness, long-suffering, and the willingness to bear all things. Take my old emotional habits, mindsets, automatic reactions, rude assumptions, and self-protective stance, and make me patient, kind, good, faithful, gentle, and self-controlled. I am not able to rise above who I am at points… only You can transform me. Forgive me and create in me Father a clean heart and right spirit. Thank You Father for your patience with me…

     With the authority in the name of Jesus I claim a hedge of protection around my marriage… and all others participating in the SHMILY group. I will not stand by and watch my husband be wearied… I will not sit idle while an invisible wall goes up between us. I will not allow confusion, wrong attitudes, miss-communication, and bad choices to erode what we are trying to build together. I will not tolerate hurt and unforgiveness leading to divorce. You, Father God, have given me authority in the name of Jesus to stop evil and permit good. I do not wish to bring grief upon You, giving up on this marriage, to end in divorce. I decide, daily, to make my marriage work. I choose to make it work by doing whatever it takes, within healthy parameters, to see it happen! I trust in You Lord, that whatever threat is over this marriage can be removed by Your Power! Teach me Father how to pray for, how to lay down my life in prayer for David.

     I lift up my marriage to You for strength, guidance, peace; not what I selfishly may desire – but for only whatever You want Lord. Show me and I’ll do it = Change me, Lord; as I hope to be Your teachable student – the wife You want me to be for my husband. Bring unity between us so that we can be in agreement about everything (Amos 3:3). May the God patience and comfort grant us to be like-minded toward one another, according to Christ Jesus (Romans 15:5). Help me to come to You with all that we do. Help me, Father, to let go of the past and all hurt associated with it and be willing to lose the argument in order to win the battle = a marriage that honor’s You! Give my husband a new wife, one that he is proud to call his own. Give me a new, positive, joyful, loving, forgiving attitude toward my husband. Where he has erred, reveal it to him – – – it’s between You and him. Deliver us together Father God. Help me not to hold myself apart from him emotionally, mentally, or physically because of unforgiveness. Where either of us needs to ask forgiveness of the other, help us to do so. If there is something I’m not seeing that is adding to this problem, reveal it to me and help me to understand it. Remove any wedge of confusion that has created misunderstanding or miscommunication. Where this is behavior that needs to change in either of us, I pray You would enable that change to happen. As much as I want to at times to hang onto my anger toward him, and I’m sure him toward me, because we feel it is justified, I ask You to release all those feelings. Make us a team, not pursing separate, competitive, or independent lives, but working together, overlooking each others faults and weaknesses for the greater good of the marriage. Give me a renewed sense of love for Dave and words to heal our marriage.

     Lord, I pray for an end to any conflict surrounding us and a breaking of the hold strife has on us. Please take away the hurt and the armor we’ve put up to protect ourselves. Lift us out of the it of unforgiveness. Speak through me, Father, so that my words would reflect Your love, peace, joy, and reconciliation to Dave. Tear down any wall between Dave & I and teach us how to walk through it together. Teach me Father to know when & what to speak and/or when to just Shut Up! I thank You Father, for all you’ve already brought us through!

     I thank You Father for working in this marriage, our family, and holding us together. I’ve seen the power within these walls… keeping us here all because of You. Make me my husband’s helpmate, companion, champion, friend, and supporter. Help me to maintain my responsibilities … to only name a few… to build a home of peace, help me to keep the house clean, and to tend to the children. Help me to create a home of nurturing, rest, acceptance, rejuvenation, safe, peaceful and love for every member of this family. Grow me into a creative and confident woman who is rich in mind, soul, and spirit. I accept that my husband is the head of the household & I am the heart of our home… I cannot handle both jobs & thank You Father for sharing & anticipating our need of knowing this! I ask You to help me to change/rearrange my expectations of Dave, only going to him with what You want me to. I choose to accept Dave the way he is and pray for him to grow closer toward You; helping him to climb down off that fence toward You. Help me Father God to not defeat my marriage by giving me more wisdom in respecting my husband; helping me to focus on the positive of situations. Reveal to me what Dave wants and needs and show me potential problems before they arise. Breathe Your life into this marriage.  

     Make me a new person, Lord. Give me a fresh perspective, a positive outlook, and a renewed relationship with the man You’ve given me. Help me see him with new eyes, new appreciation, new love, new compassion, and new acceptance. Give my husband a new wife, and let it be me!

In Jesus’ Name, Amen

Leave a Reply

