• Categories

  • HL’s Twitter

  • Please, Pray for & Support Others



    PFL Smaller

    Add this button on your sidebar to support us!

    Thank you for all of your support.

    braincancerbutton.png







  • Heather's  book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists


    Blogging for Books

    Book Reviews

    I love to read and review books and have a very broad range of genre interests. Reading and reviewing Advanced Review Copies is also something that I greatly enjoy and am always more than happy to do. I express my opinions openly and love to share the great new books and authors that I come across. I am more than thrilled to do reviews for any author and/or publisher. Feel free to contact me at: HLJourney@gmail.com





    e-Sword Home

  • Flickr Photos

  • Invisible Chronic Illness Awareness


    Invisible Illness Awareness

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

SHMILY/PPW Update

Hello everyone, I’m still continuing through the SHMILY Time journey with Amy at Dandelion Seeds and a group of women on Facebook, praying for our husband while reading through The Power of a Praying Wife by Stormie OMartian. Life has just been somewhat hectic around here (Explanation below signature) in order for me to keep up with posting daily 😦 Requesting prayers as I’m becoming very weary & restless. Hoping my attitude, character, presence is still honoring to God in this trying time. And prayers requested for my Little Man to get well! Thx!
Hope to return soon to daily posting…

I wanted to at least share some friends posts & a quick prayer for each day I’ve not covered in a post yet.

Day 7: His Mind
     Father God I come thanking You for my DH’s sound mind & I ask for Your continued protection guarding him from wrong thinking. I ask for my husband to receive the mind of Christ and to take every thought captive. Amen

  • Amy’s post on Dandelion SeedsBlog
  • Joanne’s post on The Ayscues Blog
  • Dana’s post on Living Stones Ministry

Day 8: His Fears
    Father God I pray for Your strength, comfort & love to surround my DH to protect him from any fears he’s carrying – deliver him from them! Amen.

  • Amy shares Challenge #3!
  • Amy’s Day 8 post on her Dandelion SeedsBlog
  • Joanne’s post on her The Ayscues Blog
  • Dana’s post for Day 8 on her Living Stones MinistryBlog

Day 9: His Purpose
    Father God, I lift up my husband to You asking for Your guidance for him. Mold him into the man You want him to be. I pray that You will open doors to draw him near, closer to You & Your purpose for his life; and close the doors he shouldn’t walk through. Help me to be his helpmate every step of the way, as You’d want me to. Amen

Day 10: His Choices
    Lord, fill Dave with wisdom to make right choices in his daily life. Surround him with godly counsel & draw him hearer You as You fill him with the fear of the Lord. Help him to see the consequences before a bad choice is made, so he may change his ways to be complete & honoring to You. Amen

  • Amy’s Dandelion Seeds SHMILY Day 10
  • Joanne’s The Ayscues SHMILY Day 10
  • Dana’s Living Stone Ministry Day 10

Day 11: His Health
    Father God I ask for You to continue to give Dave the desire to take better care of himself, as You’d want him to by exercising & eating better. I praise You for his recent desire to want to exercise! I pray too for myself in this area as above & give counsel direction for more ways to cook healthier great tasting meals (for these picky boys here). I praise You for the wisdom already give & the healing in past sicknesses. As we trust in Your Word to be restored & healed (Jer. 30:17). I pray for good health & peace in the future. Amen

Day 12: His Protection
    Lord, I pray for Your protection over my husband daily as he walks in this worldly battlefield. I thank You and depend – trust in – Your promise to be a shield to those who put their trust in Him (Proverbs 30:5).

Day 13: His Trials
    Lord God, I invite the Holy Spirit to move into Dave’s circumstances and transform them! (p.113) I life Dave up to You requesting Your grace through any trail he comes upon – help him to have the right attitude & not get discouraged. Help him to maintain a positive outlook of gratitude, hope, patience, and peace in the midst (p.111) of each circumstance. Help me (us) to “count it all joy” as stated in James 1: 2,3, even “when [we] fall into various trails, knowing that the testing of our faith produces patience.” (p.111) Thank You Father! Keep us from falling into wrong thinking/responses. I ask for you to grow us into compassionate, patient, spiritually strong, God-glorifying people. (p.112) Help my husband to believe wholly Romans 8:38, 39 –> “For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angles nor principalities nor powers, nor things present nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate him from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Amen.

  • WOW – Amy’s Day 13 post!

Thanks for joining me… hopefully this is not too long,

 Explanation of hectic week:

  • My little man (M) is sick.
         Tuesday we endured vomiting 5x in 3 hours – YUK. I took him to the pediatrician who sent us to the hospital for 3 hours because he was dehydrated (which I’d already figured). He enjoyed playing xBox while there! His fever had reached 103.3 before going to the hospital. Strep test was done at Dr. office – returned negative.
         Wednesday we endured spiking fevers between 101.2 – 104.3
    He’s such a trooper… trying to enjoy watching movies most of the day; as he’s still not my “bouncy full of energy boy,” just lying around mostly. But the doctor’s said as long as he’s keeping fluids down, let this virus run it’s course.
        Thursday we continued to endure spiking fevers as soon as the Tylenol wears off, its back. I took him back to the Dr for them to check his white blood count and see what else may be going; as the Dr. wanted to see him since his fever is still getting really high. Flu test done – returned negative. His white blood count was slightly elevated & we were sent home with more labs to do and an antibiotic (Septra) – yippy. Received a phone call to return tomorrow b/c they forgot to do the throat culture again to make sure it’s not strep.
        Friday we returned to Dr for throat culture to arrive with him vomiting again… he was also a little confused. Dr. returned us to the hospital for IV fluids and to get his liver/kidney functions checked. Everything came back normal! He was rehydrated & we were told is the stomach flu.
        Saturday he started perking up somewhat, wanting to play more but his fever is still spiking pretty high when the Children’s Motrin or Tylenol wears off.
  • I’m getting hardly any sleep… and enduring several headaches throughout the day. Thanking God they haven’t turned into full blown migraines!
  • Still praying every morning in quiet time (not so quiet now that schools out) & with my prayer warrior (sometimes reaching afternoon hours to get this prayer in… but we’re making sure we’re covering this family in prayer! Thank you so much Laura for your continued commitment to mentoring me!).
  • Reading The Power of a Praying Wife and praying nightly with my sister for our husband’s (when we can through this illness we have over here)!!
  • All the above … along with trying to keep the household running – LOL
    Phew… !!! ??? Whew; need to get back on track with this.
One Response

  1. Thank you for linking my blog! Praying for strength & wellness for you!

Leave a Reply

