• Categories

  • HL’s Twitter

  • Please, Pray for & Support Others



    PFL Smaller

    Add this button on your sidebar to support us!

    Thank you for all of your support.

    braincancerbutton.png







  • Heather's  book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists


    Blogging for Books

    Book Reviews

    I love to read and review books and have a very broad range of genre interests. Reading and reviewing Advanced Review Copies is also something that I greatly enjoy and am always more than happy to do. I express my opinions openly and love to share the great new books and authors that I come across. I am more than thrilled to do reviews for any author and/or publisher. Feel free to contact me at: HLJourney@gmail.com





    e-Sword Home

  • Flickr Photos

  • Invisible Chronic Illness Awareness


    Invisible Illness Awareness

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

SHMILY/PPW Day 14

I’ve been trying to get this post done for days… and keep getting interrupted.

Day 14’s journey took me on an adventure through the Word searching for:

INTEGRITY

I’m excited to continue to share SHMILY Time with you and a group of women on Facebook, and thankful for Amy’s continued guidance & updates at Dandelion Seeds while reading through The Power of a Praying Wife by Stormie OMartian.

You’ve got it – Chapter 14 is regarding His Integrity.

     I had several thoughts rush through my mind when I saw the title. Beginning to turn negative; (UGHHH… the illness in my house took a toll on me, but thanking God I kept up mostly on the readings/prayers – just unfortunate that I share my journal entries late) thinking wrongly & thankfully knowing I needed to call my prayer warrior for help. She (Laura – thank you so much for being open/honest with me) helped me see I was being unreasonable allowing my thoughts to overtake what I was to see in this reading.
    So, with Laura’s help, being guided by the Holy Spirit, I overcame wrong thinking! I can thank God for blessing me with a husband that has a lot of integrity. If he states that he is going to do something, he gets it done. It may not be in the time that I wanted, but it does get done. I have to remind myself there are often more times that I do not complete things quickly enough for my dear husband. And then I have to consider how many times did I not complete something in God’s timing? WHOO – conviction. 
     I can stand by my husband’s word, he is an upright man & stands by what he believes in. I sit here… taking this all in & thanking God for my hubby’s guidance he’s giving our children. It’s important to instill certain moral’s in our children & integrity is a huge one. Yes, there are times he still messes up; but mostly I can depend on him being strong for what he believes needs to be done.

So on day 15… I spend the day off/on searching the Word for integrity. Looking for character examples, whom God considered a man of integrity. Of course we all look to Jesus (Matthew 22:16; Mark 12:14) as a man of integrity, teaching the way of God in accordance with the Truth. He is considered a man of integrity for many reasons – but here in this Scripture it notes Jesus is not swayed by men, because He pays no attention to them. We need to pray and ask for God’s protection & help to not be swayed by fleshly desires.  Then we can look to Reuben in Genesis, Joseph in Genesis,Gomar in Hosea, Joseph (Mary’s husband) in Matthew, or how about King David throughout several Books.

King David taught his son, Solomon, principles we need to learn & share with out own children as well:

  1. Get to know God personally.
  2. Learn God’s commands and discover what he wants you to do.
  3. Worship God with wholehearted devotion.
  4. Serve God with a willing mind.
  5. Be faithful.
  6. Don’t become discouraged.
See 1 Chronicles 28:9,10... NIV Life Application Bible p.645

Integrity: honesty, without compromise or corruption.

There are several Scriptures that either have/discuss integrity:

  • Deuteronomy 9:5
  • 1 Kings 9:4
  • 1 Chronicles 29:17
  • Nehemiah 7:2
  • Psalm 7:8
  • Psalm 25:21
  • Proverbs 10:9
  • Matthew 22:16 & Mark 12:14

There are more… share what you’ve found. I’d like to focus on certain Scriptures mentioned above.

9 The man of integrity walks securely,
       but he who takes crooked paths will be found out.

Proverbs 10:9

Are you listening? A man of integrity walks (is) secure! My NIV Application Biblerefers me to two other Scriptures regarding Proverbs 33:15!

Integrity

15 He who walks righteously
       and speaks what is right,
       who rejects gain from extortion
       and keeps his hand from accepting bribes,
       who stops his ears against plots of murder
       and shuts his eyes against contemplating evil-

Isaiah 33:15

 

Walks securely

4 Even though I walk
       through the valley of the shadow of death, [a]
       I will fear no evil,
       for you are with me;
       your rod and your staff,
       they comfort me.

Psalm 23:4

What more explanation, example, do I need? This is an awesome word picture God has given us!

MY PRAYER: (Along with Stormie OMartian’s p.118-119)
     Lord I praise You for my husband’s integrity & his strength to let his Yes be Yes and his No be No. My husband has shared so much with me; helping me to learn to be firm in this area & I thank You for using him to do so. I lift Dave up for his eyes to be open to know Your truth… to be able to stand strong for You.
In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Please don’t forget to stop by Amy’s blog to check out her post for this chapter/day! Thanks for joining me,

Blog pic sig copy

Leave a Reply

