• Categories

  • HL’s Twitter

  • Please, Pray for & Support Others



    PFL Smaller

    Add this button on your sidebar to support us!

    Thank you for all of your support.

    braincancerbutton.png







  • Heather's  book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists


    Blogging for Books

    Book Reviews

    I love to read and review books and have a very broad range of genre interests. Reading and reviewing Advanced Review Copies is also something that I greatly enjoy and am always more than happy to do. I express my opinions openly and love to share the great new books and authors that I come across. I am more than thrilled to do reviews for any author and/or publisher. Feel free to contact me at: HLJourney@gmail.com





    e-Sword Home

  • Flickr Photos

  • Invisible Chronic Illness Awareness


    Invisible Illness Awareness

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

James 1

Beginning mid-January (after getting over Pneumonia) IMax Lucado began reading through the book of James with a friend! I’m using Max Lucado’s Life Lesson’s study guide to help us dig deeper into God’s Word. Here, I want to share the reflection portion of the study before digging deeper into the word weekly for my 2010 journey post:

James Wordle

The book of James deals with the practical side of faith, which means trusting God even in hard times. Think about the way you have responded to a recent problem or difficulty in your life. How would you describe your general attitude during this time? What does your response to this situation reveal about your view of God?

Hmmm… can we start off any more personal!!

Difficulty… Hard Time… Problem…
I’ve had a difficult time recently with my own words & emotions. I’ve allowed myself to come to a point of frustration with people around me, mostly: my family. Speaking to quickly & loudly. Unfortunately not giving myself time to think, pray, or take a moment beforehand, answering, or even beginning. Wanting to be left alone – allowing the depression to drown me. (But crying for someone to pull me out, because I can’t do this on my own.) This shows my attitude is low, selfish… and I need an attitude adjustment – QUICK. This also shows that my view of God is not good. I’m not depending & trusting in Him to help me handle each situation. I’m giving the emotion too much room, making it bigger then God. I’m not allowing God to help me overcome my depression, frustration, anxiety. I need forgiveness from those I’ve spoken wrongly toward, feelings I’ve hurt… and forgiveness from God.

Time to pray… be still… repent… and go to them – for forgiveness.

Help me to trust more in You, Lord… Please – Forgive me. Thankful for accountability, mentor’s/Christian’s surrounding me…
In Jesus’ Name I pray,

Heather

2 Responses

  1. love and miss you girl! i appreciate your honestly and humility before the Lord. i see Him working in you – convivtion of the Holy Spirit is a good reminder that God loves us enough to draw us back to Him. miss you – wish i could send you some vitamin d (sun) 🙂 wish i could fly you out here for a visit!! if you ever see cheap fares out here – remember you have a free place to stay!!!!!! i think you all should do a womens retreat out here in the winter!!!!!

    • Hi Kerrie!!!
      So good to hear from you & thank you for your encouraging words. I’m thanking God for His continued work in me … growing closer to Him …

      Coming out there for a retreat sounds like an awesome plan… I think I’ll have to put some heads together here to figure out who can head that up 😉

      Miss you too; Love, Hugs, & Prayers, HL

Leave a Reply

