• Categories

  • HL’s Twitter

  • Please, Pray for & Support Others



    PFL Smaller

    Add this button on your sidebar to support us!

    Thank you for all of your support.

    braincancerbutton.png







  • Heather's  book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists


    Blogging for Books

    Book Reviews

    I love to read and review books and have a very broad range of genre interests. Reading and reviewing Advanced Review Copies is also something that I greatly enjoy and am always more than happy to do. I express my opinions openly and love to share the great new books and authors that I come across. I am more than thrilled to do reviews for any author and/or publisher. Feel free to contact me at: HLJourney@gmail.com





    e-Sword Home

  • Flickr Photos

    FB_IMG_1487944422696

    Happy PeopleNeed to work on this!

    20170222_113728

    FB_IMG_1486590268649

    More Photos
  • Invisible Chronic Illness Awareness


    Invisible Illness Awareness

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

    Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

WFW – 2 Corinthians 4:6

Join us for Word-Filled Wednesday, our hostess is Susan @  http://susan2956.blogspot.com/ where you can find McLinky to connect with everyone else!!!

Image Credit: Paul Lee

Today I share 2 Corinthians 4:6

6For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ.

reminding we’re to shine for Christ! A lot lately I’m being reminded this through several different vehicles,

  • Bible readings
  • Books I’m reading
  • Blogs I’m reading
  • Songs I’m singing… just coming up on the radio
    … shuffling through my iPod
    … beginning/ending Sunday services
  • Friends sharing
  • Etc.

and I’ve questioned myself too… thinking I can’t possibly be shining enough with all these reminders around. Additionally, each time I try harder to shine, the harder it actually gets. Knowing, learning again and again, the problem is one little word, I, can’t make it happen – I have to allow the Holy Spirit within to help me, since I am willing, overcome self & shine for Him!

Recently I’ve been participating in Beth Moore’s “Esther” Bible study with my church, in which led me to 2 Corinthians. We often are able to remember quickly, quote even, the Scritpure that follows this one:

7But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us. 8We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; 9persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed.

but what about this Verse & even the Scriptures that follows?

10We always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body. 11For we who are alive are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that his life may be revealed in our mortal body. 12So then, death is at work in us, but life is at work in you.

Can you quickly recite them? Are you carrying around the death of Jesus to reveal the life of Jesus? How is that shown for others to see easily? Are you shining His Light from your heart? Share how, or even – thank whom you’ve seen shine for Him as well!

Thank you for joining me today… I greatly appreciate

Amy @ The 160 Acre Woods continuing WFW! Each week, even if I’m not participating, I benefit from visiting others, learning so much, enjoying the sharing of God’s Word, and each time am guided to greater thoughts! Have a blessed week.

10 Responses

  1. What a privilege it is to be able to us the Spirit of God to be light within these vessels of clay…to be a light in the darkness of the counter culture in which we live.

  2. GREAT WORD!! What study are you doing of Beth’s.

    I’m just finishing The Patriarch’s.

    Thanks so much for joining us this WFW!

    Blessings to you♥

    • Hi Susan,
      We’re in the middle of Beth’s Esther study… it is a wonderful journey! I can’t believe I forgot to add that … 😉 Editing post now.
      I haven’t done The Patriarch’s study, but have heard it is a great study.
      Hugs & Prayers, HL

  3. Oh Heather, what a wonderful and thought-provoking devotional. I love these inspirational Bible verses, even the challenging ones – sometimes especially the challenging ones! Thank you 🙂

    And aren’t the Beth Moore studies and workbooks a great resource! I recently did the study on Daniel, and now I’m working through Jesus, The One and Only. Truly encouraging! 🙂

  4. It is beautiful…Happy WFW!

  5. SOoooo what I needed to hear today! Not by my strength or merit! Amen!! Happy WFW!!

  6. Amen! I pray I am shining His light. To Him be all glory, honor and power. Thanks for sharing. Happy WFW!

  7. Thank God for that light, and for those that help turn it on when I really need it.

    Beautiful.

  8. Blessings Heather…And so let our LIGHTS SHINE!
    Beautiful graphic and inspirational words to tell us there’s enough darkness and we must be the light!
    Thanks Heather for the questions to challenge us as well! May Jesus shine more from me today than yesterday! EnJOY WFW!

  9. Thanks for that beautiful verse. Blessings ~

Leave a Reply

